French Political Hierarchy

A French political hierarchy generally consists of a system revolving around the politics and government of France. With contrary to the American and the British political hierarchy which have been surviving for many years, the French political hierarchy forms its ground in 1789. However the major political system took place on October 4, 1958 which was followed due to the change laid by two world wars.

The political system of France is differentiated among three levels that is, legislative, executive and judicial. The current political system of France is its Fifth republic in which the President who has been elected for five years plays a vital role and leads the state.

The fifth republic of the France political society was originated by the result of the war which took place in Algeria and due to which Charles de Gaulle took more endowment giving rise to additional powers to the president as compared to the Fourth republic. The Prime minister of the state is appointed by the President with the consent of the assembly. The association between the President and the Prime minister is censorious.

The French political hierarchy is organized in the bodies like the Presidency, the Executive, the National Assembly, the Senate, Political Parties and the Judiciary. These are discussed one by one as follows:

French Political Hierarchy
French Political Hierarchy

The Presidency:

As compared to other republics, the president of the fifth republic holds maximum powers. He is committed to various responsibilities such as addressing the armed military, selecting the Prime minister, administering the ministers and judiciary members and managing the treaties among countries. The president does not have authority to meet the Senate to asunder the executive and the legislative.

The Executive:

The Prime minister who is appointed by the combined decision of the National Assembly and the President is responsible for leading the government. The major responsibilities of Prime minister are to place the ministers on certain positions with the consent of the President ensure the smooth functioning of the government and make the ministers aware about their duties.

The National Assembly:

The National Assembly holds the lower position in the political hierarchy of France. The serving terms of National Assembly are on five years basis. There are 577 seats in the National assembly out of which 289 seats holds the necessity to be in majority each of which is represented by a single member constituency with the help of two rounds employed for selection.

The Senate:

Unlike the national assembly, the Senate in the political French hierarchy holds the upper position. The latest Senate has 348 seats comprising mainland France, its territories and its nations. The serving terms of National Assembly are on six years basis which were earlier of nine years.

Political Parties:

There are mainly two parties heading over French political system. These are Left wing group and the Right wing group usually including the politician members who were serving as civil servants in France.

The Judiciary:

The judiciary system is dealt separately in the French Political Hierarchy. Judges serve as civil servants of France and the panel of chief judges is selected by the president. The constitutional court is the unique feature of fifth republic.