Israeli Political Hierarchy

The political or government system of Israel is based on the democratic parliamentary system.  The political system of this country is divided into a multi -party system which is head by the Prime Minister of the country.  Like other democracies, the hierarchy of this country is divided into three major branches-legislative, executive and the judiciary.  The 11 Basic Laws of the State of Israel are the ones which define the functioning of the government and there is no written constitution.

A) The Executive Branch

The executive branch of the political hierarchy of Israel is that branch which enforces the laws that are designed and made by the Legislative branch.  This branch is headed by the Prime Minister of Israel.  The prime minister is advised by a group of ministers who are together called the Cabinet. Let’s look at the hierarchy of this branch

1. The Prime Minister-He is the chief executive of the state of Israel and most definitely the most powerful figure in the country.

2. The Cabinet– The cabinet is made up of ministers who are appointed by the Prime Minister.  The Prime minister also holds the right to dismiss any of the Cabinet ministers.

3. Security Cabinet-This is that group of ministers which is led by the Prime Minister and is responsible for making and implementing defense and foreign policies.

4. The President-The President is the head of state of Israel and has the major and most important executive powers.

B) The Legislative Branch

This is that branch of the political hierarchy of Israel which makes all the laws and its hierarchy is given as follows:

1. Knesset– This is the unicameral legislature of Israel and has 120 members, each of whom has a 4 year serving period.  This group has the power to enact the laws and also to repeal them.

C) The Judicial Branch

The third branch of the political system of Israel is the judicial system which is divided as follows:

1. Judicial Courts–   This branch consists of a three tier system consisting of court hierarachy

  • Magistrate courts
  • The supreme court
  • The district court

2. Religious Courts-These courts handle issues of family law

3. Labor Courts-There are a total of 5 labor courts in Israel and handle all those cases which are related to employer-employee relationship and other labor law related aspects.

4. Military Courts-All the military related cases are heard by these courts.

5. Court of Admiralty– All those matters that are related to Admiralty are head by this court.