Nursing Education Hierarchy

Nursing is an important division of Health care industry that has been quite eye catching among youngsters since its beginning. Nurses act as assistants to doctors and take medical care of a patient undergoing treatment. Nurses play equally significant role as of doctors in health care centers. Nursing education hierarchy explains all the education levels that a person will see in the road of becoming a professional nurse.

The nursing education hierarchy is described below in a chronological order pattern means starting with the entry level of education hierarchy and ending with the highest achievable one. Have a quick look at nursing education hierarchy which is explained below.

Nursing Education Hierarchy

Diploma in Nursing Hierarchy – This is the initial stage for a person to enter the nursing education hierarchy and the students after finishing their secondary education enter in this course. Diploma in nursing varies from a two year diploma to three & half year diploma. This is more of graduation but with 2 or 3 year certification. These diplomas are done from any hospital based school of nursing. These diplomas are as below:

  • Diploma in Nursing Science
  • Associate if Science in Nursing
  • GNM (General Nursing & Midwifery)
  • A.N.M (Auxiliary Nursing Midwifery)
  • Multi Purpose Health Worker (M.P.H.W.)

Bachelors in Nursing Hierarchy – Bachelor of Nursing is an academic degree referred mostly as B.Sc. Nursing. This is an associate degree with duration of four years. The person after completing the Bachelors in Nursing gets eligible to apply for a nursing Licensure in order to become a Registered Nurse. The Bachelors in Nursing can be done with a specialization in one or more than one field. The person after Bachelors in any field can go for Masters in the same field. But the degree has to be completed from a well recognized university. These are explained below in the nursing education hierarchy.

  • Bachelors of Science in Nursing
    • Pediatric Nursing
    • Geriatric Nursing
    • General Nursing
    • Maternal Child Nursing
    • Psychiatric Nursing
    • Cardiac Special Nursing
    • Military Nursing
    • Midwifery
    • Neonatal Nursing
    • Forensic Nursing
    • Public Health
    • Ambulatory Care Nursing
    • Adult Medical Surgical Nursing

Masters in Nursing Hierarchy – After Bachelors degree, the bachelorette can go for post graduation. The next level in the nursing education hierarchy is Masters in Nursing. Usually the Licensed Practical Nurses go for masters. The Masters in Nursing is usually a two year program which is explained as below:

Post Masters in Nursing Hierarchy – After competing Masters, the person can also go further for Post Master degree in Nursing which involves the high level research in the field. The professionals completing this level of hierarchy get the reputation equivalent to of doctors. This Post Master Nursing education hierarchy is described as below:

  • Doctorate in Nursing
  • Doctor of Nursing practice