Hierarchy of Indian Education System

The Indian educational system is very much arranged in a systemic pattern that is normally termed as hierarchy of Indian education system. This hierarchy is partially similar to most of the country’s education system while partially is different from those. The first half is similar while the other half of the educational system is different. Basically the hierarchy of Indian education system follows a “10+2+3” educational pattern.

This “10+2+3” educational pattern is basically educational levels defined – 10 years of primary education, then more 2 years of higher secondary education followed by 3 years of college education. There are further levels of education in this system that includes Master’s degree and many more.

There are some levels before this “10+2+3” pattern too but the core system remains this “10+2+3” educational system. The 10 years system is a must for every child of India and no one has the right to deprive a child of this educational right.  The hierarchy of Indian education system is explained below in an ascending order means staring with the lowest educational level and proceeding ahead to end with the top most educational level.

Hierarchy of Indian Education System
Hierarchy of Indian Education System

Pre Nursery

This is the preliminary level of the hierarchy of Indian education system. This is more of a day care for children who are in an age group of 2 to 5 years. This is the first exposure that a child has with the schooling system and is basically inculcated with very basic level education.


The next in the hierarchy is level kindergarten. Children from age group 3 to 6 years reside in this educational level. In most of the schools this level is further sub divided in two levels which are as the following:

  • Lower Kindergarten (LKG)
  • Upper Kindergarten (UKG)

10+2+3 patterned Education

This is the core of the hierarchy of Indian education system. Every educational institute of India follows this pattern. The three levels of this pattern are explained as below

  • 10 years of basic education – This level incorporates 10 years of basic education which is compulsory for every child to get to have the basic foundation of education for a bright future. This 10 years system can be systematically divided into these following three sub levels –

5 years of Primary education

3 years of Upper Primary education

2 years of High School

  • 2 years of Higher Secondary education – These two years are of board education that can be obtained by schools or colleges supporting higher secondary education.
  • 3 years of College Education – These 3 years are of graduate program that can be supported by any university which is authorized by Indian government.  But some professional courses are of more than 3 year span.
  • High level Education – This level of the educational system in hierarchy of Indian education system incorporates higher level of education like Master’s degree, diplomas, doctorate level education etc.