Italy Education Hierarchy

In Italy, education is compulsory for children between the age of 6 and 16.  In this country, the education system is divided into 5 categories- kindergarten education, primary school education, lower secondary school education, upper secondary school education and University education.  In this country, both private and public education system are found to be existing.  The perfect hierarchy of Italian education hierarchy system is well divided. To know more about it, you can read the following given information.

A) Nursery School

The nursery school education in Italy is a non -compulsory part of the education system and generally lasts for 2-3 years.  It is also termed as pre-school education and lasts from 3 years to 6 years of age.  Here kids are taught basic poems, games, alphabets, colours and about animals.

B) Primary school

In Italy, primary school education comes after the non- compulsory school education and is compulsory for all students.  Primary school education lasts for 5 years, generally from the age of 6 to 11 years and here the students are taught basics of language, Mathematics, History, Geography, Science, Physical education, musical arts, social studies and visual arts.

C) Secondary Education

After completing primary school education, students are directly entered into secondary school, which lasts for another 8 years from the age of 11 to 19. Secondary school education is divided into 2 sub categories, which are explained below:

1. Lower secondary Education-This is the first grade secondary education which goes on for 3 years from age of 11 to 14.

2. Upper secondary Education-This is the second grade secondary education which goes on for 5 years from 14 to 19 years of age in a student’s life.

D)  University education

After successfully completing secondary school education, students can choose to go for University education or higher education.  Depending upon personal choice, students can go up to any level in higher education. The following will explain in detail what all options are there when it comes to University education and its hierarchy.

1. Bachelor’s Education-Bachelor’s education can be taken up after secondary school education, in the course that is applicable. Bachelor’s studies last for 3-4 years, depending upon the course or field of study.

2. Master’s Education-After having completed bachelor’s level education, many students opt for going a little higher up in the ladder of education. For this, Master’s education is an obvious choice. Master’s education lasts for 2 years and is mostly a specialization of the bachelor’s course.

3. Bachelor’s +master’s– Rather than doing separate bachelor’s and master’s courses, students can also opt for combined 5 year courses. These courses cover the course of both bachelors’s and master’s studies.

4. Doctorate– Having a Master’s degree opens doors for going for further education. One can go for Doctorate level studies or PhD in the subject of specialization. This can last for 3, 4 or 5 years, depending upon the course or field of study.

Higher level education is non- compulsory education and consists of several other courses apart from degree courses. Some of them are certificate courses, diploma courses or professional courses.

To Know more about Education Hierarchy in Germany click here