Asian Racial Hierarchy

Asia is the largest continent in the world. Asia is broadly divided into six regions such as Central Asia, East Asia, Northern Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia and West Asia. There is an abundance of ethnic groups throughout Asia. The ethnic groups have been adapted to the different regions of the continent as per their requirements and the availability of the resources.

Some ethnic groups have been adapted to the mountains, deserts and the grasslands. Some groups have started harvesting of their own. Some practice nomadic lifestyle and some have got adapted to the urban lifestyles. In this particular journal, we will take a detailed look at the Asian racial hierarchy from different aspects.

Asian Racial Hierarchy
Asian Racial Hierarchy

Central Asia: The ethnic groups of Central Asia are composed of Xinjiang, Indo-Iranian, Turkic and Mongolic groups. The main religions prevalent in Central Asia are Islam and Buddhism. The culture of Central Asia is mainly influenced by the Chinese, Indian, Persian, Afghan, Turkish, Arabic and Mongolian cultures.

East Asia: The major ethnic groups prevalent in East Asia are Han, Korean and Yamato. The various other races are Tibetan, Manchu, Uyghur, Mongol and Kazakh. The region of East Asia consists of countries China, Taiwan, Japan and Korea.

Northern Asia: Most of the ethnic groups prevalent in Northern Asia have a nomadic history. They speak various languages such as Uralic, Mongolic, Tungusic and Turkic. In addition, the Ethnic Racial Hierarchy also consist of East Slavs and Paleo-Siberian people.

South Asia: The population of South Asia is majorly divided into two groups –  Dravidian and Indo-Aryan. These groups are further subdivided in again some ethnic groups – Indo-Aryans, Dravidians, Austro-Asiatic and Tibeto-Burman etc.

Southeast Asia: This particular region has been influenced by the religions  and cultures of China. The region of Southeast Asia is comprised of countries Burma, Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Vietnam, Singapore, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, East Timor and Philippines.

West Asia: The races prevalent mainly in the West Asia are Arab and Persian. The other cultural groups are Greek, Turkish, Jewish, Armenian, Kurdish and Cypriot.

Considering from a different angle, belowis the Asian racial hierarchy; which is worth taking note of. These are the prevalent racial classes.

Asian Racial Hierarchy
Asian Racial Hierarchy
  • Negritos:
  • Ainu race:
  • Tungid race
  • Dravidian race
  • Turanid race


This particular race group belongs to the people who have inhabited from parts of Malaysia, Philippines and Southeast Asia.

Ainu race:

This is an ethnic group having its origin in Japan. According to the anthropologists, they are being considered to descend from Jomon-jin people, who lived  in Japan during the Jomon period.

Tungid race:

Tungids are a basic Mongolid type of Northern Asia. They are found in Siberia, Northeast China, Turkestan ad Mongolia.

Dravidian race:

The people of this race are generally found in the parts of India, Sri Lanka, Nepal and Bangladesh. They are mostly found in Southern India.

Turanid race:

This race is also called as Ural-Altaic race as it is associated with the Uralic and Altaic families. This race is mostly spread in the parts of Central Asia and Kazakhstan.

Know more about Global Racial Hierarchy Click Here